About Us

Abu Dhabi has embarked on a two-decade economic development and diversification plan, and has articulated a long-term urban planning framework to complement this development.

This includes a strategic commitment to pursue development that is as sustainable as possible. One aspect of this is support for the development of utility-scale renewable energy power plants to help meet the Emirate’s growing energy requirements. The first of these is the 100 MW Shams 1 concentrated solar power plant. 

What we do

The Shams 1 project involves the design, construction, operation and maintenance of a CSP plant located in Abu Dhabi on a build, own, operate basis. The plant has a total installed net rated power output of 100 MW and will implement a proven parabolic trough technology that has been operating successfully for more than 20 years at the SEGS plants in the Mojave Desert in California.

The plant, which is the first utility-scale renewable energy power facility in Abu Dhabi, is being developed by Shams Power Company PJSC, a special purpose vehicle owned 60% by Masdar and 40% by the Total Abengoa Solar Emirates Investment Company, a vehicle jointly owned by Total (50%) and Abengoa (50%). 

Where we operate

Shams 1 is located in the Western Region of the Abu Dhabi Emirate at the northern latitude of 23°34' and the eastern longitude of 53°42', approximately 120 km southwest of Abu Dhabi and 6 km from the town of Madinat Zayed on the road from Tarif to the Liwa Oasis. This location was selected because it offers sufficient space for the plant, a high level of direct solar irradiation, and easy connection to the existing power and gas grid infrastructure. Its location also contributes to the Emirate’s economic development goals by spurring economic activity in the Western Region. 

Copyright © Shams Power Company PJSC. All rights reserved.
Access subject to the following disclaimer

من نحن

اعتمدت أبوظبي خطة للتنمية والتنويع الاقتصادي سيتم تنفيذها على مدى عقدين من الزمن، وعززتها بإطار للتخطيط الحضري طويل المدى يشمل التزاماً استراتيجياً بمتابعة مسيرة التنمية بأسلوب مستدام قدر المستطاع. ويتمثل أحد جوانب هذه الخطة في دعم تطوير محطات الطاقة المتجددة على نطاق واسع للمساعدة في تلبية الاحتياجات المتزايدة للطاقة في الإمارة. وتأتي "محطة شمس1" للطاقة الشمسية المركزة بقدرة 100 ميغاواط كأولى هذه المحطات.

ويقوم مشروع "محطة شمس1" على تصميم وبناء وتشغيل وصيانة محطة للطاقة الشمسية المركزة في إمارة أبوظبي وفق منهجية البناء والامتلاك والتشغيل. وستعتمد المحطة، التي تبلغ قدرتها الكلية 100 ميغاواط، على تكنولوجيا المجمّعات الشمسية ذات القطع المكافئ التي حققت نجاحاً واسعاً لأكثر من 20 عاماً في محطات توليد الكهرباء باستخدام الطاقة الشمسية في صحراء موهافي بولاية كاليفورنيا الأمريكية.

ويتم تطوير المحطة، التي تعد أول محطة خدمية للطاقة المتجددة في أبوظبي، من قبل "شركة شمس للطاقة" التي تعتبر مشروعاً مشتركاً بين "مصدر" (60%)، و"توتال – أبينجوا سولار الإمارات للاستثمار" (40%)- والتي تعد بدورها مشروع مشترك مناصفة بين شركتي "توتال" وأبينجوا".

وتقع "محطة شمس1" في المنطقة الغربية من إمارة أبوظبي على نقطة تقاطع خط العرض الشمالي  23ْ:34َ وخط الطول الشرقي 53ْ:42َ، وذلك على بعد حوالي 120 كيلومتراً جنوب غرب أبوظبي وعلى بعد 6 كيلومترات عن مدينة زايد على الطريق الواصل بين طريف وواحة ليوا. وجاء اختيار هذا الموقع نظراً لاشتماله على المساحة الكافية والمناسبة لعمليات المحطة، وتعرّضه بشكل مباشر لكميات كبيرة من أشعة الشمس، فضلاً عن سهولة الاتصال مع البنى التحتية القريبة لشبكتي الغاز والطاقة. كما يسهم موقع "محطة شمس1" في تحقيق أهداف التطور الاقتصادي للإمارة من خلال دفع عجلة النشاط الاقتصادي قدماً في المنطقة الغربية.

حقوق الطبع محفوظة لشركة شمس للطاقة © جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
إستخدام هذا الموقع يشدد على قبولك لشروط الإستخدام وبيان الخصوصية عبر الإنترنت