Environment

Before work began on the project, an environmental impact assessment of the project site and plant operations was undertaken. The assessment determined that the project would have no significant environmental impacts, provided adequate controls and monitoring procedures were implemented. The areas particularly scrutinized from the operational phase were pollutant emissions from the heaters, accidental oil leaks from the heat transfer fluid piping and wastewater produced by the plant. From the construction phase focus areas were air emissions (dust and combustion gases), land take, soil erosion, accidental discharge/ spills of chemicals and waste materials, and the operation of heavy machinery.

None of these potential impacts is expected to be significant given the effective mitigation steps in place and the robust ecological systems at the site or at nearby receptors. These impacts are being controlled and minimized through proper operational controls, procedures, method statements and training.

Environmental Impact Assessment

The environmental impact assessment addressed impacts involving the project’s location, construction and operation. More explicitly, the assessment reviewed:

The physical environment

  • Climate and meteorology: impacts of project phases on air quality.
  • Noise quality: impact of project phases on noise quality.
  • Soil and geology: the type and quality of soil, and geology.
  • Groundwater and hydrogeology: the type and quality of groundwater in the vicinity of the site.
  • Landscape: the natural or built landscape surrounding the project site.

The biological environment

  • Terrestrial ecology
  • Sensitive areas

The socio-economic environment

  • Current and future land use: the type and ownership status of the project’s land site.
  • Traffic generation: impacts on traffic flows along the E-12 highway.
  • Archaeology: presence of any cultural/ heritage resources.

The following parameters were studied during the assessment:

  • Infrastructure
  • Traffic and transportation routes
  • Land use
  • Archaeology
  • Population
  • Risk and safety
Solar Measurement Campaign

A study of the plant site’s direct normal solar irradiation (DNI) values for every hour of the year was conducted by correlating results from a one-year ground measurement study and 15 years (1991-2009) of satellite data acquired from the German Aerospace Centre (DLR). The yearly DNI sums vary between 1,862 kWh/m2 and 2,023 kWh/m2. The annual average DNI was calculated for the site as 1,934 kWh/m2. The DNI at solar noon is characterized by very high hourly direct solar irradiation during autumn, spring and winter, and lower values during summer. 

Heat Transfer Fluid

Synthetic oil will be used as the heat-transfer fluid to maintain pressure within manageable parameters. The oil used is Solutia Therminol VP-1 (biphenyl and diphenyl ether), which was selected because it meets the requirements of vapor-phase systems between 257°C and 400°C or liquid-phase systems from 12°C to 400°C. 

Copyright © Shams Power Company PJSC. All rights reserved.
Access subject to the following disclaimer

البيئة

قبل مباشرة العمل في المشروع، أجرينا تقييماً للأثر البيئي على موقع المحطة وعملياتها ليتبين عدم وجود أي آثار بيئية ضارة في حال تم اتباع الضوابط والإجراءات الرقابية الكافية. وتم التركيز في المرحلة التشغيلية بشكل أساسي على الانبعاثات الضارة الناتجة عن السخانات، وحالات التسرب العرضية المحتملة للزيوت من سائل النقل الحراري، بالإضافة إلى مياه الصرف الناجمة عن المحطة. وبالنسبة لمرحلة الإنشاء، تم التركيز على الانبعاثات الضارة (مثل الغبار وغازات الاحتراق)، والمساحة التي تشغلها المحطة، وتعرية التربة، والتسرب العرضي للمواد الكيماوية أو النفايات، بالإضافة إلى تشغيل الآلات الثقيلة.

ومن المستبعد أن يترك أي من هذه العناصر والاحتمالات أثراً ملحوظاً بفضل الخطوات الوقائية الفعالة التي تم اتخاذها، والنظم البيئية الصارمة التي تم تطبيقها في الموقع وعلى أجهزة الاستقبال المجاورة. وستتم السيطرة على أي أثر ضار محتمل وتقليصه بإتباع ما يناسب من الإجراءات الرقابية والتشغيلية، وتوفير التقارير المناسبة حول المنهجيات المتبعة والتدريب.

تقييم الأثر البيئي

تهدف عملية تقييم الأثر البيئي إلى تقدير الأضرار المحتملة فيما يتعلق بموقع المشروع وإنشائه وتشغيله. وتركز العملية بالتفصيل على المجالات التالية:

البيئة المادية:

  • المناخ والطقس: تأثير مراحل المشروع على جودة الهواء
  • الضجيج: حجم الضجيج الذي قد ينجم عن المشروع
  • التربة والبنية الجيولوجية: دراسة نوع وجودة التربة والبنية الجيولوجية للموقع
  • المياه الجوفية والبنية الهيدروجيولوجية: نوع وجودة المياه الجوفية الموجودة بالقرب من المنطقة
  • المساحات المحيطة: المساحات الطبيعية أو المبنية التي تحيط بموقع المشروع

البيئة الحيوية:

  • البيئة البرّية
  • المناطق الحساسة

البيئة الاجتماعية-الاقتصادية:

  • الاستخدام الحالي والمستقبلي للأرض: نوع موقع المشروع وشكل ملكيته
  • حركة المرور: تأثير المشروع على حركة المرور في الطريق السريع E-12
  • الآثار التاريخية: الكشف عن وجود أي عناصر أثرية أو ثقافية في المنطقة المحيطة

 وتمت دراسة الجوانب التالية أثناء عملية التقييم:

  • البنية التحتية
  • طرق المرور والنقل
  • استخدام الأرض
  • الآثار التاريخية
  • العامل السكاني
  • المخاطر والسلامة
قياس كمية الإشعاع الشمسي

تم إجراء دراسة على كمية أشعة الشمس المباشرة التي يتلقاها موقع المشروع كل ساعة على مدار العام، وذلك عن طريق ربط نتائج دراسة استمرت لمدة سنة كاملة في موقع المشروع مع البيانات المرسلة من الأقمار الصناعية على مدى 15 عاماً (من 1991 حتى 2009)، والتي تم الحصول عليها من المركز الألماني للفضاء. ويتراوح مقدار الإشعاع المباشر المتوسط سنوياً بين 1862 إلى 2023 كيلوواط ساعي/مترمربع، ويبلغ المتوسط السنوي لحجم الإشعاع المباشر في موقع المشروع 1934 كيلوواط ساعي/مترمربع. كما سجلت فترة الظهيرة في كل من فصل الخريف والربيع والشتاء كميات كبيرة من الأشعة الشمسية المباشرة، وذلك مقابل تسجيل انخفاض ملحوظ في هذه الكمية خلال الصيف.

سوائل النقل الحراري

سيتم استخدام زيوت مركبّة لنقل الحرارة بغية إبقاء الضغط ضمن مستويات قابلة للإدارة والتحكم؛حيث تم اختيار زيت "سولوتيا تيرمنول في بي 1" (ثنائي الفينيل وأثير ثنائي الفينيل) كونه يلبي متطلبات النظم المرحلة البخارية التي تتراوح الحرارة فيها بين 257-400 درجة مئوية، ونظم المرحلة السائلة التي تتراوح الحرارة فيها بين 12 إلى400 درجة مئوية.

حقوق الطبع محفوظة لشركة شمس للطاقة © جميع الحقوق محفوظة.
إستخدام هذا الموقع يشدد على قبولك لشروط الإستخدام وبيان الخصوصية عبر الإنترنت